Monday, June 11, 2012 at 12:14AM
National Book Foundation

Damascus Gate

By Robert Stone

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Current Publisher: Touchstone 

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Alice McDermott for Charming Billy

Fiction Judges That Year: Thomas Mallon, Fernanda Eberstadt, Lois Rosenthal, Ursula Hegi, Rafael Yglesias

The Year in Literature: 

More Information: Stone won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1975 for Dog Soldiers. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1982 and 1983 for A Flag for Sunrise (hardcover and paperback), and in 1992 for Outerbridge Reach.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1975.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.