Damascus Gate

By Robert Stone

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Current Publisher: Touchstone 

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Alice McDermott for Charming Billy

Fiction Judges That Year: Thomas Mallon, Fernanda Eberstadt, Lois Rosenthal, Ursula Hegi, Rafael Yglesias

The Year in Literature: 

  • American Pastoral by Philip Roth won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • José Saramago won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Stone won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1975 for Dog Soldiers. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1982 and 1983 for A Flag for Sunrise (hardcover and paperback), and in 1992 for Outerbridge Reach.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (1)

Not a very literary comment but loving the beard!
August 30, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPatent Attorney

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1998 | Main | 1998 »