By Ron Hansen

Original Publisher: HarperCollins

Current Publisher: Harper Perennial

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Andrea Barrett for Ship Fever and Other Stories

Fiction Judges That Year: Kathryn Harrison, Amy Bloom, Benjamin Cheever, Elizabeth Spencer, David Bradley

The Year in Literature:

  • Independence Day by Richard Ford won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Wislawa Szymborska won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Hansen was a National Book Award Fiction Judge in 2000, the year that Susan Sontag won the Award for In America.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1996 | Main | 1995 »