Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 11:17PM
National Book Foundation

Swimming in the Volcano

By Bob Shacochis

Original Publisher: Scribner

Current Publisher: Grove Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: E. Annie Proulx for The Shipping News

Fiction Judges That Year: Phyllis Rose, Sven Birkerts, George Garrett, James A. McPherson, 
Wendy Steiner

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Bob Shacochis won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1985 for Easy in the Islands.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1985-1.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.