Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 11:04PM
National Book Foundation

Outerbridge Reach

By Robert Stone

Original Publisher: Ticknor & Fields

Current Publisher: Mariner Books 

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Cormac McCarthy for All the Pretty Horses

Fiction Judges That Year: Leonard Michaels, Toni Cade Bambara, Philip Caputo, John Leonard, Joy Williams

The Year in Literature:

  • A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Derek Walcott won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Stone won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1975 for Dog Soldiers. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1982 and 1983 for A Flag for Sunrise (hardcover and paperback), and in 1998 for Damascus Gate.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.