Outerbridge Reach

By Robert Stone

Original Publisher: Ticknor & Fields

Current Publisher: Mariner Books 

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Cormac McCarthy for All the Pretty Horses

Fiction Judges That Year: Leonard Michaels, Toni Cade Bambara, Philip Caputo, John Leonard, Joy Williams

The Year in Literature:

  • A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Derek Walcott won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Stone won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1975 for Dog Soldiers. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1982 and 1983 for A Flag for Sunrise (hardcover and paperback), and in 1998 for Damascus Gate.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1993 | Main | 1992 »