Lost in the City

By Edward P. Jones

Original Publisher: William Morrow & Co.

Current Publisher: Amistad 

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Cormac McCarthy for All the Pretty Horses

Fiction Judges That Year: Leonard Michaels, Toni Cade Bambara, Philip Caputo, John Leonard, Joy Williams

The Year in Literature:

  • A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Derek Walcott won the Nobel Prize for literature.

Most Information: Lost in the City, a collection of short stories about the African-American working class in 20th-century Washington, DC, was Jones’ first book. His second book, The Known World, won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2004.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1992 | Main | 1992 »