Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 10:07PM
National Book Foundation

Billy Bathgate

By E.L. Doctorow

Original and Current Publisher: Random House

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Casey for Spartina

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

More Information: E.L. Doctrow won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1986 for World’s Fair. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1972 for The Book of Daniel, in 1982 for Loon Lake, and in 1995 for The March.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1986.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.