Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 10:23PM
National Book Foundation

The Joy Luck Club

By Amy Tan

Original Publisher: G.P. Putnam & Sons

Current Publisher: Penguin

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Casey for Spartina

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

  • Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Camilo José Cela won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: The Joy Luck Club was made into a 1993 film of the same title directed by Wayne Wang. Tan co-wrote the screenplay with Ronald Bass.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.