Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 10:05PM
National Book Foundation

Breathing Lessons

By Anne Tyler

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Ballantine Books 

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Pete Dexter for Paris Trout

Fiction Judges That Year: Not available

The Year in Literature:

  • Beloved by Toni Morrison won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Naguib Mahfouz won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Tyler was a Fiction Finalist twice previously: in 1982 for Morgan’s Passing and in 1983 for Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.