Wheat That Springeth Green

By J.F. Powers

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: NYRB Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Pete Dexter for Paris Trout

Fiction Judges That Year: Not available

The Year in Literature:

  • Beloved by Toni Morrison won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Naguib Mahfouz won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Powers won the National Book Award in 1963 for Morte D’Urban. He was also a Fiction Finalist in 1957 for The Presence of Grace.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1988 | Main | 1988 »