1985 - First Work
Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 9:20PM
National Book Foundation

Slow Dancing

By Elizabeth Benedict

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Finalists for First Work of Fiction That Year:

Winner for First Work of Fiction That Year: Bob Shacochis for Easy in the Islands

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Slow Dancing was Benedict’s first of five novels, including Almost (2001) and The Practice of Deceit (2005). She is also the author of a nonfiction book, The Joy of Writing Sex: A Guide for Fiction Writers, and the editor of the anthology, Mentors, Muses & Monsters: 30 Writers on the People Who Changed Their Lives (2009).

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.