1984 - First Work
Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 9:07PM
National Book Foundation


By Padgett Powell

Original and Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Finalists for First Work of Fiction That Year: 

Winner for First Work of Fiction That Year: Harriet Doerr for Stones for Ibarra

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Powell published a sequel to Edisto, titled Edisto Revisited, in 1996.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.