The Anatomy Lesson

By Philip Roth

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Ellen Gilchrist for Victory Over Japan

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature: 

  • Ironweed by William Kennedy won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Jaroslav Seifert won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Roth won the National Book Award for Fiction twice: in 1960 for Goodbye, Columbus and in 1995 for Sabbath’s Theater. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1975 for My Life as a Man, in 1980 for The Ghost Writer, and in 1987 for The Counterlife.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1984 - First Work | Main | 1984 »