1982 - Hardcover

Ellis Island and Other Stories

By Mark Helprin

Original Publisher: Delacorte Press

Current Publisher: Harvest Books

Fiction (Hardcover) Finalists That Year:

Fiction (Hardcover) Winner That Year: John Updike for Rabbit Is Rich

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

  • Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Gabriel García Márquez won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Ellis Island and Other Stories was Helprin’s third book and second collection of stories. His first book was A Dove of the East and Other Stories (1975), followed by a novel, Refiner’s Fire (1977). 

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1982 - Hardcover | Main | 1981 - First Novel »