1982 - First Novel 
Sunday, June 10, 2012 at 6:02PM
National Book Foundation

The Men’s Club

By Leonard Michaels

Original and Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux

Fiction Finalists for First Novel That Year:

Fiction Winner for First Novel That Year: Robb Forman Dew for Dale Loves Sophie to Death

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Michaels was a Fiction Finalist once previously, in 1970 for Going Places.

The Men’s Club was made into a 1986 film of the same title directed by Peter Medak and starring Roy Scheider, Harvey Keitel, Stockard Channing, and Frank Langella. Michaels also wrote the screenplay.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.