1982 - First Novel 

The Men’s Club

By Leonard Michaels

Original and Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux

Fiction Finalists for First Novel That Year:

Fiction Winner for First Novel That Year: Robb Forman Dew for Dale Loves Sophie to Death

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

  • Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Gabriel García Márquez won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Michaels was a Fiction Finalist once previously, in 1970 for Going Places.

The Men’s Club was made into a 1986 film of the same title directed by Peter Medak and starring Roy Scheider, Harvey Keitel, Stockard Channing, and Frank Langella. Michaels also wrote the screenplay.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1982 - First Novel | Main | 1982 - First Novel »