1981 - Paperback

The Year of the French

By Thomas Flanagan

Original Publisher: Holt, Rinehart & Winston

Current Publisher: NYRB Classics

Fiction (Paperback) Finalists That Year:  

Fiction (Paperback) Winner That Year: John Cheever for The Stories of John Cheever

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

  • A Confederacy of Dunces by the late John Kennedy Toole won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Elias Canetti won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

The Year of the French was the Flanagan’s first novel. The book won the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction in 1979.

Flanagan is also the author of The Tenants of Time (1988) and The End of the Hunt (1995).

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1981 - Paperback | Main | 1981 - Hardcover »