1981 - First Novel

The Clan of the Cave Bear

By Jean M. Auel

Original Publisher: Crown Publishing

Current Publisher: Bantam

Fiction Finalists for First Novel That Year:

Fiction Winner for First Novel That Year: Ann Arensberg for Sister Wolf

Fiction Judges That Year: Not Available

The Year in Literature:

  • A Confederacy of Dunces by the late John Kennedy Toole won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Elias Canetti won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: The Clan of the Cave Bear was made into a 1986 film of the same title directed by Michael Chapman and starring Daryl Hannah.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 1981 - First Novel | Main | 1981 - Paperback »