Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at 9:49AM
National Book Foundation

The Morning Watch

By James Agee

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Company

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Agee was a Fiction Finalist a second time, in 1958 for A Death in the Family.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.