Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at 1:04PM
National Book Foundation

The Witch Diggers

By Jessamyn West

Original Publisher: Harcourt, Brace and Company

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

More Information: West developed the habit of writing while sitting up in bed during the years she spent recovering from tuberculosis in the 1930s.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.