Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at 1:02PM
National Book Foundation

Lie Down in Darkness

By William Styron

Original Publisher: Bobbs-Merrill Company Inc.

Current Publisher: Vintage Books; Open Road Integrated Media (ebook)

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Styron won the National Book Award in 1980 for Sophie’s Choice.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.