Lie Down in Darkness

By William Styron

Original Publisher: Bobbs-Merrill Company Inc.

Current Publisher: Vintage Books; Open Road Integrated Media (ebook)

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • François Mauriac won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Styron won the National Book Award in 1980 for Sophie’s Choice.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1952 | Main | 1952 »