Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at 1:00PM
National Book Foundation

The Catcher in the Rye

By J.D. Salinger

Original Publisher: Little, Brown

Current Publisher: Back Bay Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Salinger never won the National Book Award, but he was a Fiction Finalist once more, in 1962 for Franny and Zooey.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.