The Catcher in the Rye

By J.D. Salinger

Original Publisher: Little, Brown

Current Publisher: Back Bay Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • François Mauriac won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Salinger never won the National Book Award, but he was a Fiction Finalist once more, in 1962 for Franny and Zooey.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1952 | Main | 1952 »