Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at 12:58PM
National Book Foundation

Melville Goodwin, USA

By John P. Marquand

Original Publisher: Little, Brown

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Marquand won the Pulitzer Prize in 1938 for The Late George Apley, a novel which was adapted into a film starring Ronald Colman in 1947.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.