Wednesday, May 2, 2012 at 12:54PM
National Book Foundation

The Holy Sinner

By Thomas Mann

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: University of California Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

More Information: The Holy Sinner is based on the German narrative poem Gregorius by Hartmann von Aue, written around 1190.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.