The Holy Sinner

By Thomas Mann

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: University of California Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • François Mauriac won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: The Holy Sinner is based on the German narrative poem Gregorius by Hartmann von Aue, written around 1190.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1952 | Main | 1952 »