* Special Citation

The Trouble of One House

By Brendan Gill

Original Publisher: Doubleday Company

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Other Fiction Finalists That Year: Not announced

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for The Collected Stories of William Faulkner

Fiction Judges That Year: Maxwell Geismar, Granville Hicks, Charles Rolo, Willard Thorp, Eudora Welty

The Year in Literature: 

  • The Town by Conrad Richter won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Pär Lagerkvist won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: 

  • * Gill was not officially a Finalist, but the Fiction Jury decided to award him a special citation.
  • Gill wrote for The New Yorker for more than sixty years and published a bestselling memoir, Here at The New Yorker (1975), about his experiences at the magazine.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1952 | Main | The Contenders: 61 Years of National Book Award Fiction Finalists »